Conferences & Awards

Robert A. Scala Award 1999


From Left to Right: Dr. Bernard Goldstein, Dr. Robert Scala, and Dr James Bus


On May 4, 1999, Dr. James Bus became the seventh winner of the Robert A. Scala Award and Lectureship in Toxicology. James S. Bus, Ph.D. is the Science Policy Leader and Technical Director of the Health and Environmental Research Laboratory at the Dow Chemical Company in Midland, Michigan. Prior to joining Dow Chemical in 1989, he held the positions of Associate Director of Toxicology and Director of Drug Metabolism at the Upjohn Company (1986-1989), Research Scientist at the Chemical Industry Institute of Toxicology (1977-1986), and Assistant Professor of Toxicology at the University of Cincinnati (1975-1977). Dr. Bus is currently an Adjunct Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology at Michigan State University and has held the position of Adjunct Associate Professor of Toxicology at the University of North Carolina.

From 1996 to 1997 Dr. Bus served as President of the Society of Toxicology and in 1986-1987 as President of the American Board of Toxicology. He is a current member of both the US Environmental Protection Agency and the National Toxicology Program Boards of Scientific Counselors, and the ACGIH Chemical Substances TLV Committee. Dr. Bus also serves as a Director of the International Union of Toxicology (IUTOX) and is co-chair of the Chemical Manufacturers Association Strategic Science Team. Dr. Bus received his PhD in Pharmacology from Michigan State University in 1975 and a B.S. degree in Medicinal Chemistry from the University of Michigan in 1971. His research interests have focused on mechanisms of chemical toxicity. In 1987 he was the recipient of the Society of Toxicology Achievement Award, granted for outstanding contributions to the science of toxicology by a young scientist. He has authored or coauthored over 80 research papers, reviews, and books.

The Scala Award and Lectureship is named for Robert A. Scala, former director of the Research and Environmental Health Division at Exxon Corp. Dr. Scala, who is well known for his work on the toxicity of gasoline components and chemical mixtures, is a past president of the Society of Toxicology and chair or member of a wide range of committees for the National Academy of Sciences, the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, and the National Toxicology Program. Dr. Scala has actively supported academic toxicology as a faculty member of the Institute of Environmental Medicine at New York University, the Medical College of Virginia, and the Joint Graduate Program in Toxicology at Rutgers and UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School. For all who have been fortunate to work with him, Dr. Scala has served as a role model. Particularly notable has been his fierce integrity in upholding the finest traditions of the discipline. The goal of this annual award and lectureship is to honor the work of exceptional toxicologists in industry and to promote continued outstanding scientific contributions by industrial organizations. The award is presented annually by EOHSI and the awardee and the date of the ceremony are announced at the annual meeting of the Society of Toxicology.