Conferences & Awards

Robert A. Scala Award and Lectureship in Toxicology

The annual Robert A. Scala Award in Toxicology honors the work of exceptional toxicologists in industry and to promote continued outstanding scientific contributions by industrial organizations. The Award is named for Robert A. Scala, Ph.D., former director of the Research and Environmental Health Division at Exxon Corp. Dr. Scala, who is well known for his work on the toxicity of gasoline components and chemical mixtures, is a past president of the Society of Toxicology and chair or member of a wide range of committees for the National Academy of Sciences, the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, and the National Toxicology Program. Previous awardees include: Cecil Pickett, Merck & Co. (1993); Lois Lehman-Mckeeman, Procter & Gamble (1994); Arthur Levin, Hoffman LaRoche, Inc. (1995); Anthony Y. Lu, Merck & Co. (1996); Kevin Driscoll, Procter & Gamble Co. (1997); Jon C. Cook, DuPont Haskell Laboratory (1998); James S. Bus, Dow Chemical Co. (1999); and David Warheit, E.I. Dupont Nemours (2000).

2004 Robert A. Scala Award
2003 Robert A. Scala Award
2002 Robert A. Scala Award
2001 Robert A. Scala Award
2000 Robert A. Scala Award
1999 Robert A. Scala Award